Be Grateful & Content!

Some time back, I started this habit of gratitude journaling. This habit helps me in looking out for the good things that are happening in my life every day and helps me see just how good the Lord has been to me. As I reflect on what the Lord has done for me, I acknowledge that everything I have and am is by the grace of God. It is all freely given to me, for the Lord is the giver of all good things.

Every day you are alive is a blessing. Who knows about tomorrow? Only God. So let us rejoice and be thankful today, each day. There is always something to be thankful for. You are alive and healthy, thank the Lord; you have a family, thank the Lord; a roof over your head, thank the Lord; daily provision, thank the Lord; a peaceful workplace, thank the Lord; genuine and supportive friends, thank the Lord; a neighbor who checks up on you whenever they pass by your house, thank the Lord; believers who encourage you in your spiritual walk, thank the Lord. There is just so much to be grateful for! I highly recommend developing this habit of keeping a gratitude list, if not daily, weekly.

Most of the time, we are not grateful because we are not content with what we have or where we are at in life. Whatever God has given you, be content with that. Please don’t say that you’ll be satisfied when you have this or that. Be content regardless of your circumstances. I like what Paul says in Philippians 4:11-13 (AMP):

Not that I speak from [any personal] need, for I have learned to be content [and self-sufficient through Christ, satisfied to the point where I am not disturbed or uneasy] regardless of my circumstances. I know how to get along and live humbly [in difficult times], and I also know how to enjoy abundance and live in prosperity. In any and every circumstance I have learned the secret [of facing life], whether well-fed or going hungry, whether having an abundance or being in need. I can do all things [which He has called me to do] through Him who strengthens and empowers me [to fulfill His purpose—I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency; I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him who infuses me with inner strength and confident peace.]

We can only be content when we know that God is with us and for us. In Hebrews 13:5, the Lord promises that he will never leave us nor forsake us. Because we know that he is true to his word, we can navigate each day trusting in his sufficiency. Besides, the Lord knows what we need, and he is our good Shepherd (Psalm 23). Let us fix our eyes on Jesus for only He can satisfy us.

 1 Timothy 6:6-10 (AMP): But godliness actually is a source of great gain when accompanied by contentment [that contentment which comes from a sense of inner confidence based on the sufficiency of God]. For we have brought nothing into the world, so [it is clear that] we cannot take anything out of it, either. But if we have food and clothing, with these we will be content. But those who [are not financially ethical and] crave to get rich [with a compulsive, greedy longing for wealth] fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction [leading to personal misery]. For the love of money [that is, the greedy desire for it and the willingness to gain it unethically] is a root of all sorts of evil, and some by longing for it have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves [through and through] with many sorrows.

Godliness with contentment is great gain.

What are you grateful for today?

Love & Blessings!

Published by

janemuteti

I love the Lord. He is my everything!

One thought on “Be Grateful & Content!”

Leave a comment